Menu
5 Stars / Historical / Review

The Study of Seduction by Sabrina Jeffries

When Edwin Barlow, the Earl of Blakeborough, agrees to help his best friend’s impetuous ward, Lady Clarissa Lindsey, in her time of need, he knows he’s in for trouble. He’s been hunting for someone to wed, and she’ll just get in the way. Although captivated by the whip-smart, free-spirited beauty, he fears she’d be all wrong as a wife…if she would even take such a gruff cynic for her husband. Too bad he wants nothing more than to have her for his own.

Clarissa has no intention of marrying anyone – not Edwin, whom she’s sure would be an overbearing husband, and certainly not the powerful French diplomat stalking her. But when matters escalate with the diplomat, she chooses Edwin’s gallant offer of a marriage between friends in hopes that it will deter her stalker. She expects nothing more than an amiable union, but their increasingly tempestuous kisses prove more than she bargained for. When her stalker’s vow to expose the lovers’ deepest secrets threatens to destroy their blossoming attraction, will their tenuous bond withstand public ruin, or will Edwin lose all that’s important to him to protect his bride?

Title:The Study of Seduction
Author:Sabrina Jeffries
Series:Sinful Suitors (Book 2)
Pages:357
Genre(s):Historical
Trope(s):Friends to Lovers
Point of View:
Location:England
Setting:Regency
HEA:✔️
Release Date:22nd March, 2016
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is AmazonUK.jpgThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is AmazonUS.jpgThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is AmazonOz.jpgThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is AmazonCanada.jpgThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ibooksuk.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ibooksusa.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ibooksoz.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ibookscanada.png

Definitely one of her best

I am a huge fan of Sabrina Jeffries – I don’t think there’s been one story of hers that I haven’t read and enjoyed. Oh, let’s be truthful – I have a proper author girl-crush on her! Despite having all of her books to choose from, this book will definitely stay in my mind as one of her best to date.

This is the second book in the Sinful Suitors series (after Yvette and Jeremy’s story in The Art of Sinning). We were first introduced to Edwin, Clarissa and their basic character traits in that book. For fans of Jeffries’, Edwin is also known as he was the former fiancé of Jane from If The Viscount Falls. Having said all that, there is absolutely no need to have read any of the preceding books before reading this one. Everything will make sense and I promise you won’t miss out on any pertinent details.

“…a witty, fun and sensual novel that will delight fans of a good historical romance.”

There’s nothing sexier in my book than a gruff, grumpy man who secretly has a heart of gold and an all consuming love and lust for his lady. Edwin actually went one better by having a sharp sense of humour to boot, which only Clarissa was able to bring out in him. Clarissa herself was sharp, smart and had layers enough to make her a very interesting and likeable character. Her past troubles made her vulnerable and I felt were dealt with realistically. It really made me feel for her.

Together, Edwin and Clarissa had such a palpable chemistry that it was so much fun to read. Clarissa seemed to excel at poking the grumpy bear that was Edwin and he just didn’t know how to deal with her. Except for kissing her, of course!

Overall, this is a witty, fun and sensual novel that will delight fans of a good historical romance. The characters are interesting, sexy and a pairing you can’t help but fall in love with. Sabrina Jeffries has really nailed this story. I can’t recommend this book more. A definite 5 stars.

(As an aside – does anyone else think that the hero on this cover looks like Leonard from The Big Bang Theory?)

Sabrina Jeffries is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 50 novels and works of short fiction (some written under the pseudonyms Deborah Martin and Deborah Nicholas).

At home in front of a crowd, Jeffries is a sought-after speaker, as evidenced by her 2010 gig as emcee for the National Romance Writers of America’s 30th Anniversary Awards Ceremony.

Whatever time not spent speaking to organizations around the country or writing in a coffee-fueled haze is spent traveling with her husband and adult autistic son or indulging in one of her passions—jigsaw puzzles, chocolate, and music.

With over 9 million books in print in more than 20 languages, the North Carolina author never regrets tossing aside a budding career in academics (she has a Ph.D. in English literature) for the sheer joy of writing fun fiction, and hopes that one day a book of hers will end up saving the world.

She always dreams big.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Link-Small.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Instagram-Small.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Goodreads-Small.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Twitter-Small.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Facebook-Small.pngThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Pinterest-Small.png

Sinful Suitors Series:

No Comments

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.